The Ultimate Reader’s Guide to Louise Penny Books in Order

Louise Penny Books in Order is described here briefly so stay connected with us. Louise Penny is a renowned Canadian author who has written several best-selling crime fiction novels. Her detective series featuring Chief Inspector Armand Gamache has captivated audiences around the globe who have fallen in love with her unique storytelling style. However, with more than 15 books in the series, it can be challenging to figure out which one to start with or what order to read them in. Fear not; this ultimate guide provides you with everything you need to know about Louise Penny books in order.

Now that winter is over, Three Pines can finally begin to recover. However, not everything that has been buried ought to be resurrected. The resurgence of all dormant phenomena is not desirable.

Armand Gamache and Jean-Guy Beauvoir’s anxiety rises as the townspeople get ready for a big party. After a long absence, a young man and lady have re-entered the life of the Sûreté du Québec agents investigating their case. When their problematic mother was slain, when they were little children, it broke both of them. They’ve finally reached Three Pines.

And for what purpose?

The terrible case that brought Gamache and Beauvoir together as partners returns to their minds. Was there irreparable damage done by their mother’s murder? Have those horrible wounds, which have been buried for decades, become infected and are on the verge of erupting?

A letter sent by a long-dead stone mason raises Chief Inspector Gamache’s concern as he seeks to find answers. The man writes about the terrifying experience he had when sealing off an attic room in the village. The 160-year-old letter is full with foreboding. The villagers decide to enter the room once they find it.

Gamache, Beauvoir, and the locals make fascinating discoveries as they chip away at the bricks. The head of homicide, however, quickly discovers that there is more going on there than initially meets the eye. There are riddles within riddles and ominous warnings of bloodshed and retribution concealed in the text.

By removing the seal from that room, they have let a familiar foe back into their world. To where they are now. And deep within Armand Gamache’s family home.

The Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series

Let’s start with the basics. Louise Penny’s Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series is a collection of 17 novels featuring Gamache, the head of homicide for the Sûreté du Québec, and his team. The series is set primarily in the picturesque village of Three Pines, located in Quebec, Canada.

So far, the series consists of the following books in order:

  • Still Life (2005)
  • A Fatal Grace (2006)
  • The Cruelest Month (2007)
  • A Rule Against Murder (2008)
  • The Brutal Telling (2009)
  • Bury Your Dead (2010)
  • A Trick of the Light (2011)
  • The Beautiful Mystery (2012)
  • How the Light Gets In (2013)
  • The Long Way Home (2014)
  • The Nature of the Beast (2015)
  • A Great Reckoning (2016)
  • Glass Houses (2017)
  • Kingdom of the Blind (2018)
  • A Better Man (2019)
  • All the Devils Are Here (2020)
  • The Madness of Crowds (2021)

Reading order of the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series

Knowing which book to read first depends on how invested you are in the story. Many people start with the first book in the series, “Still Life,” and continue from there. If you prefer a chronological approach, you may want to read “A Rule Against Murder” before “The Brutal Telling” as there is a character’s death that impacts the storyline. Additionally, Penny’s novella “The Hangman” takes place between “Bury Your Dead” and “A Trick of the Light,” so it’s worth reading it in order as well.

The Ultimate Reader’s Guide to Louise Penny Books in Order

Louise Penny Books in Order

Armand Gamache Series: A Complete Narration

The Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series is well-received by many readers worldwide, and it’s not hard to see why. Penny has a way of weaving intricate mysteries, vivid descriptions of the idyllic town of Three Pines and breathing life into its characters. The novels’ exploration of human nature, compassion, friendship, and love is undoubtedly a refreshing break from the typical crime-thriller genre.

Other Louise Penny Books

While the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series is undoubtedly Penny’s most popular work, she has also written several standalone novels. These include:

– “Still Life” (2005)
– “A Great Reckoning” (2016)
– “Kingdom of the Blind” (2018)
– “A Better Man” (2019)
– “All the Devils Are Here” (2020)
– “The Madness of Crowds” (2021)

These standalone works are worth a read for Penny fans who want to dive deeper into her writing style.

Click Here


If you’re a fan of crime fiction, Louise Penny books are a must-read. Her Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series is perfect for anyone looking for a thrilling and engaging read. With the ultimate guide we’ve provided, you now have everything you need to know about Louise Penny books in order, the reading order of the Gamache series, and more. So go ahead, pick up a Louise Penny novel, and get lost in the world of Three Pines. Happy Reading!

Leave a Comment